AutoCheMo International Reactive Force Field Workshop

This workshop is organized in the frame of the AutoCheMo MSCA ITN and aims to present the latest developments in the field of reactive force field modeling.

The workshop will take place in Ghent (Belgium), yet remote participation and presentation is also supported. Currently, the maximum occupation of the meeting room is 22 persons. If local Covid-19 measures become more strict by early December and prohibit a physical meeting, the workshop will become an online event.

The following invited speakers have confirmed, offering a bird's-eye perspective on the topic of reactive force fields:

  • Adri C.T. van Duin, Penn State University
  • Judith Herzfeld, Brandeis University
  • Jesse G. McDaniel, Georgia Institute of Technology

In addition, one of the sessions is dedicated to the work of the AutoCheMo early stage researchers (ESRs). All participants are strongly encouraged to submit an abstract for a contributed talk or poster on their work related to reactive force fields. Contributions not selected for a talk are still eligible for a poster presentation. You can indicate your preferred contribution type in the abstract submission form. In the spirit of the ITN program, we particularly welcome abstract submissions from young researchers.

Participation is free but registration is mandatory.

Registration form (deadline Nov 31)

Abstraction submission form (deadline Oct 31)

Important dates

  • Oct 29, 2021: webpage online (including  abstract submission and registration form) and circulation of the initial announcement.
  • Oct 31, 2021: deadline of the abstract submission.
  • Nov 15, 2021: final program, including contributed talks.
  • Nov 31, 2021: registration deadline.
  • Dec 8-9, 2021: workshop takes place in Ghent and can be followed online.


Priorzaal in Het Pand, Ghent University

Onderbergen 1, 9000 Ghent, Belgium

Remote participation is also possible. At most 22 persons may participate locally and if needed, priority is given to contributing participants.

Tentative schedule

Organizing committee

Leonid Komissarov, Gabriel Rath, Felix Schmalz, Michael Gustavo, Stan van Gisbergen, Sergio Lopez Lopez, Kai Leonhard & Toon Verstraelen

If you have a question, please contact